Sayaka Kajita Ganz

Sayaka Kajita Ganz makes sculptures out found objects. In her own words: “I only select objects that have been used and discarded. The human history behind these objects gives them life in my eyes.  My goal is for each object to transcend its origins by being integrated into an animal form that seems alive. This process of reclamation and regeneration is liberating to me as an artist.”

I had a lot of trouble picking which pieces to put up – she has so many. Ultimately, the sculptures that impressed me the most involved movement. I can’t believe how much motion she captures with plastic utensils. The animals are so believable, I almost wouldn’t be surprised if I found out these pictures were taken as her sculptures actually ran around the gallery space. I would recommend going to her website immediately.

And also, I just love this dog:

-Courtney

One response to “Sayaka Kajita Ganz

  1. Vishinsky Designs

    Yea the dog is my favorite too

Leave a Reply

