Terunobu Fujimori

Originally an architecture historian, Terunobu Fujimori didn’t become an architect himself until age 44. “Since I was a famous architectural historian,” he says, “I thought my architecture should be totally unique, dissimilar to any architecture that came before. I figured that if I did something traditionally European or Japanese, everyone would say ‘Oh, it’s because he’s a historian.’ I didn’t want that criticism.” His work is definitely unlike anything I’ve seen.

More photos are after the jump.

{photos and quote via dwell – follow to read the full essay}

2 responses to “Terunobu Fujimori

  1. I just can’t get enough of the charred timber cladding and the lovely interior wood surfaces.

Leave a Reply

